Current Productions
Past Productions
About Us
Contact Us
Join Us
Young Thespians
Woodside Hall

Past Productions

Made in Dagenham

Woodside Hall, Hitchin
16th to 20th October 2018

Wednesday 17 October - SOLD OUT
Friday 19 October - SOLD OUT
Saturday 20 October - SOLD OUT

Director - Leigh Smith
Musical Director - Rob Brand

Based on the 2010 film of the same name, Made in Dagenham is drawn from the real-life 1968 sewing machinists strike at the Ford factory in Dagenham, Essex which was influential in the passing of the Equal Pay Act of 1970.

The show focuses on the leader of the strike, Rita O’Grady, as she encourages the women of the Ford factory to walk out after they are re-classified as unskilled workers, while their male counterparts see their wages increase.

After Rita is patronized and snubbed by the factory at a union meeting, the women’s grievances over their worker status turn into a fight for equal pay.

Determined not to be treated like the poor relation, the women vote unanimously to strike (“Everybody Out”) and encourage the women at the Liverpool factory to strike also.

However, when the American bosses fly in and lay off 5,000 men as a result, including Rita’s husband Eddie, cracks begin to show in the women’s solidarity. Risking her marriage and friendships, Rita continues her efforts for equality and gives a rousing speech at a televised Trade Union Conference (“Stand Up”), leading to the passing of equal pay within the union.

As Eddie finally recognizes his wife’s achievements, the women celebrate their life-changing success. Featuring a rousing score and a choice of good character roles, Made in Dagenham offers parts for all ages.

Cast List:

  Rita O'Grady Rachel Allen
  Barbara Castle Barbara Thomas
  Connie Alison Hudson
  Beryl Claire Bailes
  Clare Kelly-Ann Corderoy
  Sandra Nicole Georges
  Cass Katie Higgins
  Lisa Hopkins  Laura Rogers
  Eddie O'Grady Leigh Smith
  Graham O'Grady Gianni Marcantonio
  Sharon O'Grady Isla-Rose Allen
  Monty Ian Hamilton
  Harold Wilson Mike Roberts
  Mr Tooley Matt Kaplan
  Mr Hopkins Iain Fishpool
  Cortina Man Joe Emler
  Barry Phil Calver
  Sid Stephen Roles
  Bill Bryan Summers
  Chorus: Helen Alexander, Marianne Bond, Phil Calver, Joe Emler, Nigel Kirby, Christopher Richmond, Carolyn Roberts, Bryan Summers, Thalia Vounaki, Athena Woodbridge, Hannah Woodhouse, Matt Woods.

Click for Programme

Click here to see a copy of the booking form
Click here to see a copy of the seating plan

Production Photos
Thanks to for permission to use these photographs



Site Designed and Maintained by ICWebs